PolandPoland - so good we named it twice!

 Poland | Old Poland | Art | Map | Questions | Gazetteer | Polish | Culture | Friends | Accommodation | News




Republic of Poland

The Provinces (Regions) of Poland

Poland has for centuries been both a bridge and a front line between eastern and western Europe. Today, free from outside interference, Poland is the place to go if you're interested in seeing how a nation picks itself up off the floor and tries to reinvent itself. It's a multifaceted country where on a trip through the country one can find the most modern symbols and trappings of contemporary Europe and ten minutes later come across horse-drawn carts negotiating country lanes.

There are sixteen provinces or regions in Poland (wojewodztwa, singular - wojewodztwo); Dolnoslaskie (Lower Silesia), Kujawsko-Pomorskie, Lodzkie, Lubelskie, Lubuskie, Malopolskie, Mazowieckie, Opolskie, Podkarpackie, Podlaskie, Pomorskie, Slaskie, Swietokrzyskie, Warminsko-Mazurskie, Wielkopolskie, Zachodniopomorskie.

Most of the image based section of the Poland Poland site focuses on the western part of Poland, which was largely German prior to the end of the Second World War. The regions formerly known as Western Pomerania, Pommern, East Brandenburg, Neumark, Posen, and Lower Silesia. Our most comprehensive coverage is given to the largely undiscovered and otherwise unfairly ignored province of Lubuskie. Lubuskie is a fairly recently created province and includes territory which was once part of Western Pomerania, East Brandenburg, Posen, and Silesia. This most picturesque and westerly of Polish provinces is bordered by Germany and three other Polish provinces: Dolnoslaskie, Wielkopolskie and Zachodniopomorskie.

Lubuskie - the main focus of our site

Dolnoslaskie - Lower Silesia

wielkopolska wielkopolskie poland











Copyright 2004 PolandPoland.com